Appointment of Sylvie Cadet-Mercier, ASN commissioner

Published on 27/12/2016 • 11:33 am

Press release

Sylvie Cadet-Mercier

By decree of the President of the Republic dated 21st December 2016, Mrs Sylvie Cadet-Mercier is appointed to the ASN Commission for a 6-year term, as a member designated by the President of the Republic. In this capacity, she replaces Jean-Jacques Dumont, whose mandate came to an end on 15th December 2016.

Mrs Sylvie Cadet-Mercier, aged 53, has been Director of Systems, new reactors and safety approaches at the Institute for Radiation Protection and Nuclear Safety (IRSN) since 2012. She has represented IRSN on the Technical Board for Reactor safety of Etson (association of 13 European technical safety organisations) and at Wenra (association of 28 European nuclear safety regulators).

After graduating from the Special School of Public Works and then the National Institute for Nuclear Sciences and Technologies, Mrs Cadet-Mercier joined IRSN in 1998 as an engineer in charge of conducting thermohydraulic safety studies. From 1999 to 2003, she was head of the Thermohydraulic Accidents Assessment Office.

Then, from 2003 to 2011, she was appointed deputy and then head of the Thermohydraulics, Operation, Cores and Fuel Evaluation Department.


The ASN Commission comprises five Commissioners, including the ASN Chairman. They are appointed for six years, three of them by the President of the Republic and one each by the Presidents of the two Parliamentary assemblies.

In accordance with the law, the Commissioners act in complete impartiality and receive no instructions from the Government or from any other person or institution. They perform their duties on a full-time basis and their mandate is not renewable.

The Commission draws up ASN strategy and doctrine for the oversight of nuclear safety and radiation protection. It takes the most important decisions. The Commission issues public position statements on major subjects within ASN’s field of expertise. It reports to Parliament.


Date of last update : 08/06/2017