Other associations of nuclear safety and radiation protection authorities (FRAREG, MDEP, INRA)

The Safety authorities of countries operating nuclear power plants of French design (FRAREG), the Multinational Design Evaluation Programme (MDEP) and the International Nuclear Regulators' Association (INRA)

Safety authorities of countries operating nuclear power plants of French design (FRAREG)

The FRAREG (FRAmatome REGulators) association was created in May 2000. It comprises the nuclear safety authorities of South Africa, Belgium, the People's Republic of China, South Korea and France.

Multinational Design Evaluation Programme (MDEP)

Created in 2006, the MDEP comprised the safety authorities of 15 countries by 31 December 2015 (Canada, China, Finland, France, Hungary, India, Japan, Korea, Russian Federation, South Africa, Sweden, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, and United States). The IAEA,also takes part in the programme's activities.

At the request of the MDEP member safety authorities, the NEA ensures the technical secretariat of this programme.

Within the MDEP these authorities can discuss and compare their experience on the evaluation of new reactors from the safety aspect. This organisation fosters the sharing of experience feedback and contributes to the harmonisation of practices and regulatory requirements.

The MDEP's activities are conducted within working groups dedicated to new reactor designs (EPR, AP1000, APR1400, VVER, ABWR) and cross-cutting subjects (digital instrumentation and control, codes and standards relative to pressure equipment, Vendor Inspection Co-operation).

ASN has been actively involved both in the EPR Working Group (EPRWG) with its Nuclear Power Plant Department (DCN), and the Codes and Standards Working Group  (CSWG)  with its Nuclear Pressure Equipment Department (DEP).

The MDEP Policy Group (PG) and the Steering Technical Committee (STC) oversee the programme. The MDEP Policy Group is currently chaired by Finland. France is represented by the ASN’s Chairman, Pierre-Franck Chevet. ASN’s Deputy Director General, Julien Collet, has been Chairman of the MDEP STC since 2015.

The International Nuclear Regulators' Association (INRA)

The International Nuclear Regulators' Association brings together the Heads of 9 regulatory bodies in order to have informal exchanges of thoughts and good practices in terms of nuclear safety. It meets twice a year.