International Commission on Radiological Protection (ICRP)

The ICRP is a non-governmental organisation (NGO) created in 1928 for the purpose of assessing the state of knowledge on the effects of radiation in order to identify their implications with regard to the radiologial protection rules to adopt.


 The ICRP analyses the results of the research work carried out across the world and examines the work of other international organisations, such as UNSCEAR in particular. It issues general recommendations on the protection rules and exposure levels not to exceed, intended more particularly for the regulatory bodies.

The International Commission on Radiological Protection comprises a main commission and five committees: "Radiation effects" (C1), "Doses from Radiation Exposure" (C2), "Protection in Medicine" (C3), "Application of the Commission's Recommendations" (C4) and "Protection of the Environment"(C5). These committees are chaired by scientific, renewed periodically for a term of 4 years.

Margot Tirmarche and Michel Bourguignon, ANS Commissioners, were appointed to the International Commission on Radiological Protection as of 1st July 2013. Margot Tirmarche has been a member of the "Radiation Effects" committee since 2000 and Michel Bourguignon is a new member of the "Protection in Medicine" committee.

The current European regulations, and through transposition of the European directives, the French regulations, correspond to the implementation of ICRP recommendation No.60 of 1990.

For more informations