

Montrouge, 30 January 2024

Biography of Mr Olivier Dubois Commissioner of the French Nuclear Safety Authority

Mr Olivier Dubois is graduated from the Paris Ecole nationale supérieure des mines in 1995, specialising in atomic engineering.

Mr Olivier Dubois had hitherto been deputy director of safety assessment at the IRSN (French Institute for radiation protection and nuclear safety) and thus has considerable experience in the nuclear field.



He was a research engineer at the CERN (European Organisation for Nuclear Research in Geneva) in the field of particle accelerator operations and then occupied various positions at EDF before joining the IRSN in 2009.

He was initially deputy head of the thermohydraulics, core, operations and fuel department, in charge of oversight of studies and assessments conducted within the department. In 2012, he was then appointed head of the incidents and accidents management department.

He was appointed assistant to the assessments director in 2018 and, since 2020, has been deputy director for safety assessments in charge of management of safety assessment activities for the NPP fleet in operation, operating lifetimes, EPRs (Flamanville 3 and future EPR2), experimental reactors and the ITER facility.

Mr. Olivier Dubois was also one of the heads of the technical emergency centre and one of the safety spokespersons within the IRSN's emergency organisation. He was in charge of strategic oversight for the drafting of the Institute's safety positions and doctrines, notably those concerning Small Modular Reactors (SMR).

He is an Associate Professor at the French National Institute of Nuclear Sciences and Techniques (INSTN). He was a member of ASN's Advisory Committee for reactor safety (GPR). Finally, Mr. Olivier Dubois has gained extensive knowledge of international bodies active in the field of nuclear safety. He was notably chairman of the Technical Board on Reactor Safety (TBRS) of ETSON (European Technical Safety Organisations Network).

By decree of 29 January 2024, Mr Dubois was appointed as a member of the ASN commission for a period of six years.