Ms Laure Tourjansky is appointed ASN Commissioner

Published on 27/04/2021 at 12:27

Information notice

By decree of the President of the Republic dated 21 April 2021, Ms Laure Tourjansky is appointed member of the Commission of ASN, the French Nuclear Safety Authority, for the remaining term of the mandate of Ms Lydie Evrard, who is taking up other duties.

A graduate of the Ecole Normale Supérieure of Fontenay Saint-Cloud with a degree in the humanities and a doctorate in economics, Laure Tourjansky has the status of General Engineer of Bridges, Water and Forests.

Laure Tourjansky, ASN

She began her career in 1995 as project manager in the sectoral studies bureau (energy, transport, infrastructure) in the Forecasting Directorate of the Ministry of Economy and Finance. She then occupied the post of Rapporteur to the Competition Council from 1998 till 2000.

In 2000 she joined the Ministry in charge of Sustainable Development, first as head of the "resources and local services" bureau, in charge of waste economics among other things, then as head of the "infrastructures, transport and development" bureau at the Directorate of Economic Studies and Environmental Assessment.

In 2007 she was appointed head of the Waste Management Policy Department at the General Directorate of Risk Prevention (DGPR), a position she held until 2010.

She was then appointed Deputy Director of the Ile-de-France Regional and Interdepartmental Directorate of the Environment and Energy.

In 2014 she was appointed Deputy Director of the Maritime Fishing and Aquaculture Directorate of the Ministry in charge of Sustainable Development. In 2016 she was appointed head of the "Natural and Water-related Hazards" Department in the DGPR at the Ministry of Ecological Transition.

Laure Tourjansky has been made Chevalier of the Order of Merit and Chevalier of the Legion of Honour.


*          *

This appointment brings the ASN Commission to its full complement. The Commission consists of five Commissioners, including the ASN Chairman, appointed for a six-year term*. The President of the Republic appoints three commissioners while the Presidents of the two Parliamentary assemblies each appoint one commissioner.

By law, the members of the Commission act with complete impartiality, receiving no instructions from either the Government or any other person or institution. They exercise their functions on a full-time basis and their mandate is neither renewable nor revocable.

The Commission develops the ASN strategy and doctrine for the regulation of nuclear safety and radiation protection. It issues resolutions embodying the most important decisions. It takes public positions on the major issues that lie within the competence of ASN. It reports to the French Parliament.

*"A member appointed to replace a member who has ceased his/her mandate before its normal term is appointed for the remaining term of the mandate.If the remaining term is less than two years, this mandate is not counted in the application of the rules specific to each authority regarding limits on the number of mandates of its members."Extract from Article 7 of Act No. 2017-55 of 20 January 2017 on the general statute of independent administrative authorities and independent public authorities.

*                                                                   *


Press contact: Evangelia Petit, Head of the Press Service, tel (+33)1 46 16 41 42,


To find out more:refer to the decree published in the Official Journal of the French Republic of 21 April 2021.

Date of last update : 03/09/2021